Your Questions Answered

We get a lot of questions being a Dairy, Egg, and Gluten-free bakery.  We've decided to share the most common ones on here to help you out!

What is Vegan? 
The term vegan applies to a person that follows Veganism principles or how to describe something that fits the criteria in Veganism. The definition of Veganism is the practice of abstaining from using any animal product. There are different levels of abstaining but mostly animal products are avoided in the diet and/or other products (clothing, footwear, toiletries, etc.) The origin of Veganism came from Vegetarianism in England during the 1940’s. Vegetarians do not consume meat products but do use dairy and eggs (generally.) Some members believed that no animal product should be used at all. This controversy led to the creation of a new sect called Veganism. In the 1970’s, doctors started endorsing vegan diets for it’s health benefits. Some of the benefits are higher intake of vitamins C and E, iron and folic acid and protection against certain diseases such as heart disease. Veganism is continuing to grow in popularity today as more and more people are becoming aware of their surroundings and their impact on it.

What is Gluten-free? 
Gluten-free refers to an item that is free of gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat and rye grains. It is what makes bread and other baked goods chewy and gives structure. The necessity for GF products is for the treatment of Celiac disease. Celiac disease is a reaction to gluten in the small intestines. The small intestines will become inflamed and not function correctly. This leads to nutrients to not be absorbed and malnutrition occurs. The initial symptoms are gastrointestinal but over time more serious effects happen.

What are your qualifications? 
The owner has an A.S. in Patisserie and Baking with honors from Le Cordon Bleu of North America. Some of the topics studied are foundations in culinary and pastry techniques, knife skills, ingredient functions, formula formation, baking skills related to simple sweets, breads, cake assembly, molded chocolates and truffles, cake decoration and plated desserts. She also has the ServSafe Manager Certification which includes knowledge of prevention of cross-contamination, proper hand washing procedure, proper storage guidelines, time-temperature abuse prevention, and proper cooling techniques.

What is your experience with vegan/gluten free? 
The owner started vegan baking 6 years ago when looking for dairy free recipes. At that time is when she discovered the vegan cuisine. There were more options for vegan recipes than just dairy free and the recipes didn’t need further re-formulating since they naturally took no dairy into consideration. Her gluten-free experience started shortly after as she was experimenting with a GF pie crust for a family friend. She also completed her externship from Culinary school and was employed at a vegan bakery that also made GF products.

What substitutions are used in your Vegan baking? 

  • Rice milk and coconut milk are substituted for cow’s milk
  • Plant-based buttery spread is substituted for dairy butter
  • Applesauce is substituted for eggs in some recipes, in others tapioca and agar powder
  • (agar powder is a vegetarian substitute for gelatin, it is derived from red algae)

Do you plan to expand your menu? 
Yes. Currently we are focusing on such items as cupcakes, cakes, pies, cookies, and seasonal items. We plan to add breads and breakfast items as we become established in the community. Some of these new items are available by pre-order at this time.

Are Vegan baked goods healthier? 
It depends on your health goals. Vegan baking can be lower (to almost non-existent) in cholesterol and saturated fats due to the non-use of butter and milk/cream. There is, however, still fat and carbohydrates as in regular baking. As with all sweets, moderation is always best.

Are gluten-free baked goods healthier? 
The GF items at this bakery are vegan so they have the same characteristics as the above question states and they do not contain gluten. It is hard to say if a GF diet is healthier overall. The GF diet is a necessity for those with Celiac disease but may not be for others. GF has become a fad diet as of late which can help but also hurt the Celiac community. It can help because more products will be available as demand is high but it can also hurt in the long run when the sensationalism dies down and options become scarce.

With all of the ingredients not used, how can this bakery help with other food allergies and sensitivities? 
The bakery naturally leaves out dairy products and eggs so this will help with milk and egg allergies. Fish and shellfish are not an issue here. For peanut allergies, peanuts and peanut butter will not be used in this establishment. In place of peanut butter, sunflower seed butter will be used which has a nutty quality to it. As for wheat, soy and tree nuts, there are options. There is a gluten free and/or soy free recipe for everything made with wheat. The GF flours used are from Bob’s Red Mill. This company verifies their product is gluten free. In the facility, wheat is present, but great care is taken to not cross-contaminate. Pecans, walnuts, and almonds are used and kept in air tight containers away from main ingredients. Other specific allergies or requirements can be addressed as needed. Please contact us. Disclaimer: We can not guarantee the other ingredients obtained from other providers are allergen free. You must use your discretion.

What kind of butter is used? 
Earth Balance and Smart Balance Light are used. Both are made from a mix of palm fruit, soybean, olive, and canola oils. The Smart Balance Light has an addition of flax seed oil.

What kind of flours are used? 

  • Brown Rice – finely milled rice
  • Garbanzo Bean – finely milled beans
  • Tapioca – cassava plant – processed similar to Arrowroot
  • Potato Starch – ground dehydrated potatoes

Are your ingredients certified GF? 
The GF flours come from Bob’s Red Mill in Milwakee, Oregon. This company does batch testing to verify their product. Many of the products used are naturally GF, but there is always the possibility of gluten being present. As with all choices, please use at your discretion.

How do you make sure to not cross-contaminate? 

  • proper cleaning and sanitizing of equipment
  • proper hand washing
  • educated employees

Is there a taste difference between regular and GF products? 
Taste is subjective so this can not be answered definitively. Texture for vegan and GF can be different because of the alternative ingredients. However, great care and time was taken to create recipes for products that are very close to traditional items. Most people can not tell the difference between the GF and regular wheat products.

How did you come up with your flavors? 
With the help of “The Flavor Bible”.

Are your flavors different every day?
Some flavors will repeat but there will be new flavors every day.

Is your facility peanut free?
Yes!  We do not use peanuts in any of our products.

Is your facility nut free?
No, however we take precautions to eliminate any contamination.  If a product states that it has nuts then it does, otherwise it does not.

Do you have red velvet?
No.  Red velvet is only a lot of red food coloring and a small amount of cocoa powder.  We do not use fake food colorings, we use all natural and organic food colorings, thus our colors are a little different but taste better and are better for you!